Mary Utopia Rothrock Award Nominations


What is the Rothrock Award?

Ms. Rothrock is considered to be the founder of modern public library services in Knoxville and is responsible for the system of branch libraries used in Knox County. The Rothrock Award was established in 1976 in honor of Mary Utopia Rothrock and her impact on libraries in Tennessee and the field of librarianship. 


The award recognizes outstanding contributions to librarianship in the Southeast. This is the highest honor bestowed by SELA on leaders in the library field.


The winner will be presented with a plaque, a lifetime membership in the Southeastern Library Association, and a check for $100. Winners attending the 2024 Annual Conference will be presented with the award at a special event.

To learn more and nominate please use this PDF:

SELA Nomination Reformatted Final.pdf

Submit nominations on this form and any accompanying material to the Rothrock Award Committee Chair, Dr. Linda Marie Golian-Lui, by May 1, 2024.


Last modified at 02/29/2024 - 16:40 PM